PreviousNextTracker indexSee it online !

(178/207) 3477783 - New instance not to remember previously edited files

If I type say
jedit -norestore a.txt b.txt c.txt
I want to actually only be editing those three files. Currently jedit quietly adds a whole list of other files which I may be editing somewhere else, or have been editing recently. It also helpfully remembers how many windows I had open, whether they were split etc. I want to be able to disable this feature as although it seems like it would be helplful, I actually find it inconvenient most of the time. I thought -norestore wouild do this but it doesn't.

Submitted Anonymous - 2012-01-23 - 17:21:43z Assigned nobody
Priority 5 Category core
Status Open Group None
Resolution None Visibility No


2012-01-24 - 13:11:22z
It seems -noserver does most of what I want.
2012-01-24 - 13:48:04z
If I define

alias jedit='rm ~/.jedit/perspective.xml; /home/aleph/ajf/shells/jedit -norestore -noserver'
then that gets what I want. jedit starts up "clean" with no memory of currently or previously open files, in a default view, with no memory of previous views and their settings.
(second time I have entered this comment, first time it did not appear)